Writers Write. About What?

It’s so hard to figure out what to write about. I don’t think I have a novel in me but surely with all the time I devote to thinking about things and forming strongly held convictions, you would think I could come up with something to comment on that would be worthwhile, wouldn’t you?

Yeah. Me too. But this does not happen to be the case. So with gentle reminders from WordPress that I can do it and I need to submit a post to keep up with my commitment to write a post a week, I sit in front of my computer with a blank stare and a blank mind.

WTF? I rant all the time about the dis-functional world in which we live. Words flow trippingly from my tongue about unfairness and injustice. I am never at a loss to rail against the corruption of politics, the rise of idiocy or the worldwide conspiracy to slander Justin Bieber. So, as the Grinch would say, “What is the deal?”

The problem may stem from the medium itself. Writing is a solitary task. It is usually done best away from the noise and distraction of others, as a certain amount of concentration is required in order to compose ones thoughts into a coherent framework that expresses both the idea one wishes to convey, and, is comprehensible to the person reading it. Whereas a conversation usually takes place with more than one person contributing ideas and thoughts. Something said or observed acts as a catalyst to send the conversation off in a certain direction and is maintained by the give and take of the persons involved

So perhaps the problem a writer faces is that of topic overload. He/she has so many topics and ideas to choose from that they are not able to narrow it down to just one. In other words, unless the writer is able to write down his or her thoughts when the momentum of an idea is in full flood, then, when the passion fades, the topic that was paramount at the time fades into the common pool of multiplied other ideas only to add to the writers frustration later when trying to select a topic of interest.

Sometimes I think I have writers ADD. I get a good idea in my head a spend hours fleshing it out and arranging it and then . . . BUNNY! I know there must be a way to sit down and latch onto an idea and put it to words but I haven’t figured it out yet. Any suggestions?

Those who can – write. Those who can’t – catch it on DVD.

